{SPOTLIGHT REVIEW} When I Fall (Alabama Summer #3) by J. Daniels

When I Fall Cover

Title: When I Fall (Alabama Summer #3)
Author: J. Daniels
Genre: #ContemporaryRomance
#whenifall #alabamasummerseries #jdaniels

{SYNOPSIS}
For the past nine years, I’ve kept my heart as far away from my dick as possible.

Those two can’t be anywhere near each other. They don’t play nice, and one of them undoubtedly winds up getting hurt.th

Not my dick. My dick is good.

The women I take home know exactly what they’re getting from me—sex. Nothing more. At least, that’s what’s supposed to happen. The sweet brunette from Kentucky I set my sights on tonight shouldn’t have been any different. I had her right where I wanted her. Where I needed her. But when my past comes walking into McGill’s pub, the woman in my arms decides to take things to a whole new level, putting me into a situation I never saw coming.

My heart is about to get fucked. My dick can sit this one out.

Warning: this book is recommended for readers over the age of 18 due to strong language and explicit sexual content. When I Fall can be read as a standalone novel.

{PURCHASE LINKS}
Amazon US / Amazon UK / B&N / iBooks

WIF Teaser 1

{BABBLING CHATTER’s REVIEW by Renery}
When I Fall (Alabama Summer #3) by J. Daniels
My rating: ★★★★★ 5 of 5 stars

Everybody’s scared when it comes to love. I mean, come on, who would hand his heart to somebody in just a snap of a finger? Whether we admit it or not, there’s always this fear we have when it comes to falling in love.

image2Reed Tennyson has ben known to be a one-girl-one-night kind of guy. He never sleeps or hangs out with the same girl more than once. There’s always someone new. And he’s happy with that. He picks his girl for the night from McGill’s — the bar he frequents with his very best friends — gets the heat going, and after that, he’s done. Sometimes, he lets the girl sleep over. But no cuddling. And come morning, she’s thrown out. Literally. He doesn’t even spare a minute to take a good look at the poor girl. But that’s until he meets Beth Davis. Though let’s save her story for later. Reed has been burned by a girl nine years ago, who honestly doesn’t even deserve the feelings Reed had for her. Whatever happened between the two of them had Reed swearing off relationships and all the more, love. He has his reservations, but he has a pretty good reason for it.

Beth didn’t really have a very good start in life. She was brought up by her single druggie mom and eventually left alone at an early age. She went homeless for months, trying so hard to survive with what little money she had, living in her own car. That’s until someone took her in, but it shouldn’t be just that easy, right? There’s always a price to pay. But she was desperate. She was so hungry and she can’t stand the loneliness of not being able to talk to anyone anymore. So she caved. After a while, she couldn’t stand being in that house anymore and can’t get away from that hell hole fast enough. She thought she had nobody to run to anymore, until one day a phone call changes everything and brings her to Ruxton, Alabama where she meets that one person who would turn her world upside down and a family she could call her own.

image1It all started as a pretend. And a kiss. You couldn’t even imagine how important that kiss was until the end. All Beth wanted was to help Reed get over his past, pull him out of the mud. But what happens after isn’t what any of them expected. Reed and Beth’s story will give you hope and give love a chance. Their story will make you realize that sometimes, you never really knew what love is until that one special person comes barrelling to your life and just claws their way in you. And that sometimes, the fear we hold on to for so long is what actually pulls us away from our happily ever after.

“You and me.” -Reed Tennyson & Beth Davis

This is the third book on the Alabama Summer series by J. Daniels, and I couldn’t say how much I loved and enjoyed this one. It could be read as a standalone, but you would appreciate it all the more if you’ve read the first two books in the series. I love how all the characters from the other books are still very much present on this one. It gave the series a more captivating flow. I was so drawn to how Reed and Beth’s story came about. The foundation they built between them and how their relationship grew was just perfect. Oh, I so loved the text messages — all of them — and there can’t be a more perfect ending for Reed and Beth than that. It was totally them in every single way. Even at the very end, J. Daniels still had me clutching my stomach from laughing.

{BABBLING CHATTER’s REVIEW by Cristina}
When I Fall (Alabama Summer #3) by J. Daniels
My rating: ★★★★ 4 of 5 stars

image3When a person has been badly burned by their significant other chances are they refuse to love again and/or no longer believes in the concept. The heart becomes the enemy and they refuse to fall again.

This was all her doing. My hand was forced, and I’m spending time with this woman to fulfill a requirement. That’s it.

The case for Reed Tennyson when it comes to matters of the heart has been nonexistent for the last nine years. Without getting feelings involve the only alternative for him is sex. Random, never falling, and does not give a shit about who he is with sex. Women are there to fulfill a need and only does one night stands with them. The word “love” no longer exists in is vocabulary and the heart and his dick know longer work together as one.

Until one encounter with Beth Davis had him seeing her more than once in which he believe he has no control over.

This man makes me do the craziest things, but I don’t’ feel foolish moving closer, Something comes over me as my body threatens to form against his. A drive, a need to keep him from feeling anything except what I can control.

WIF Teaser 2Newcomer Beth Davis has moved to Alabama to live with her Aunt Hattie. A new life to start fresh and away from the life she had in Kentucky, Louisville after her mom had past away as well as wanting to get away from a man she know longer wants to be with and depend on.

While checking out her Aunt Hattie and Uncle Danny’s bar McGill’s she gets approached by none other than Reed. As they begin playfully chatting Reed suddenly becomes tense and his body becomes frozen and in hopes to makes things better she spontaneous made a move that changed everything.

“Beth, I’ll never hurt you, but you could easily hurt me. I can’t want you more than I want you now. I can’t. What we ‘ve been together when it’s just been us, that’s what I’m offering you.” His other hand cups my face. He inches me closer. “You and me. You understand?”

This book was such a joy to read! A newbie to the works of J. Daniels that had me experiencing a man dealing with his heartache in a somewhat typical but unconventional way he feels comfortable and a woman seeking something more from the life she was living. Her story had me teary eyed with sadness and torment. When Reed and Beth are together though the pull and connection is off the charts all over the place! The banter moments they shared had me swoony for more. But is it enough to overcome the past and to fall again? A must read indeed!

WIF Teaser 3

{PURCHASE LINKS}
Amazon US / Amazon UK / B&N / iBooks

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

