{SPOTLIGHT REVIEW} Consolation (The Consolation Duet #1) by Corinne Michaels

Consolation Front CoverTitle: Consolation (The Consolation Duet #1)
Author: Corinne Michaels
Purchase Links: Amazon US / Amazon UK / B&N / Kobo / iBooks
#consolation #theconsolationduetseries #corinnemichaels

{SYNOPSIS}
Liam wasn’t supposed to be my happily ever after.
Her wasn’t even on my radar.
He was my husband’s best friend-forbidden.

But my husband is dead and I’m alone. I ache for him and I reach for Liam.

One night with Liam changed everything. Now I have to decide if I truly love him or if he’s just the consolation prize.

{BABBLING CHATTER’s REVIEW}
Consolation (The Consolation Duet #1) by Corinne Michaels
My rating: ★★★★★ 5 of 5 stars

Is it possible to have a happily ever after again? Even if it is a love that is forbidden because falling in love can happen when you least expect it.

I want him. I want this. I need this. I hate this. Conflict stirs suddenly as realization dawns on me. I’m kissing Liam Dempsey and I like it.

consolation teaserNatalie Gilcher was pregnant when she had lost the love of her life, her husband while serving in the Navy. Being a widow and a single mom
to their new baby, Arabelle was something she had least expected. There helping her pick up the pieces of her life was Aaron’s best friend and best man at their wedding, Liam Dempsey. As he continues to invade her life to get out and do more she begins to develop feelings for the man who has been in her life for a long time.

“Do you love her?” She pulls no punches. “I care for her all those years we were friends. But I’m falling in love with her,” I admit for the first time to anyone including myself.

consolation teaser 3Liam’s growing feelings Natalie and attachment to Arabelle was not the plan. His main focus was to be there for Natalie and help settle the mundane tasks of getting things sorted and in order on behalf of his best friend death. He never expected that this one woman would change the outlook on what he wanted in life. The problem…being in active service there is a possibility that she can suffer the same fate she has already gone through with her deceased husband.

“I want it all. I love you and Arabelle, but it comes with a cost. I knew this was going to be something we will have to work through. Loving me comes with the risk of knowing I might not make it back home.”

The feels and the frustration throughout the story had my heart beating all over the place. Liam and Natalie’s story had captured me from the start especially with the overall want, the need to be around each other but afraid to get too close just to lose one another. And OMFG damn that ending! Although I had a feeling what was going to happen at the end and then at lost track of my predication the way she wrote the cliffhanger still had me shocked with many feels! The author wrote it picture perfect and could easily see the scene portrayed in my mind (even played in slow motion). A must read for the soul!

{ABOUT THE AUTHOR}
Website / Facebook / Instagram / Twitter Goodreads / Pinterest

Corinne MichaelsCorinne Michaels is an emotional, witty, sarcastic, and fun loving mom of two beautiful children. She’s happily married to the man of her dreams and is a former Navy wife. After spending months away from her husband while she was deployed, reading and writing was her escape from the loneliness.

Both her maternal and paternal grandmothers were librarians, which only intensified her love of reading. After years of writing short stories, she couldn’t ignore the call to finish her debut novel, Beloved. Her alpha Nave SEALS are broken, beautiful, and will steal your heart.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

