{SPOTLIGHT REVIEW} Darkness Lurks (Darkness #1) by J.L. Drake

Darkness Lurks Front CoverTitle: Darkness Lurks (Darkness #1)
Author: J.L. Drake
Purchase Links: Amazon US / Amazon UK / Amazon AU
#darknesslurks #darknessseries #jldrake

{SYNOPSIS}
Emily McPhee has struggled to overcome her father’s death…

It’s not easy, but Emily finally has the life she wants. She’s an A student at Orange University and has a comfortable home and a great circle of friends. She’s also in love with handsome Orange PD officer Seth Connors. He doesn’t seem to return her feelings, though, so she tells herself his friendship is enough.

Jimmy Lasko is a psychopath, and Emily is his greatest obsession…

Lasko knows what he wants—what he deserves—and has the deadly skills and unending patience to get it. What he wants is Emily, and he is watching and waiting for the perfect opportunity to strike. That time is coming soon; he’ll make sure of it.

A sense of unease settles on Emily, but is the danger real or imagined?

When Emily begins hearing noises and suspects someone has been in her house, Seth urges her to get a roommate. But after a search, she realizes a certain attractive cop would be the perfect choice, and Seth moves in.

Seth loves Emily, but fears his feelings might make it difficult to protect her.

In all areas of his life, Seth sees himself as a protector. He’s determined to keep Emily safe, but he pushes the captivating blonde away in an attempt to stay objective. However, after her stalker makes a failed attempt to capture her, Seth can no longer deny his feelings.

With help from Seth’s police colleagues, he and Emily set out to identify the person hunting her before it’s too late. But is it worth the risk to bait the trap with what he wants most?

Add to Goodreads

Babbling Chatter Read's REVIEWS

Babbling Chatter Reads 5 Hearts RatingRenery’s Rating: 5 of 5 Hearts

Renery's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsOh my God. She’s done it again!!! Hands down, Jodi writes the best suspense books ever! It left me on a high with the thrill of the story, the sexiness and humor of the characters. Again, I felt like I was watching a movie the entire time. There was not a single dull moment. It dove right into the story and will have you hang on for Darkness Lurks Teaser #1 - #RentasticReads #BabblingChatterReadsdear life until the end. And speaking of the end? That cliffhanger is just brutal and cruel! How can I sleep peacefully thinking what happens next to Emily and who are the people living so close to Emily, but works for and with Lasko? I know there are people involved here that are lurking right under their noses. But holy crap!!! I seriously suspected everyone! Every single one of the officers in the Orange Police Department—yes every single one of the hot cops—Erin, Vince, Scott, hell even Emily’s mom! Needless to say, it kept me at the edge of my seat and I was grasping my sheets the entire time, scared of Darkness Lurks Teaser #2 - #RentasticReads #BabblingChatterReadswhat will happen next.

Jimmy Lasko is one sick human being (if he even is one). Every time his point of view comes on, I
mentally cringe and feel nauseous of every single thing he does. He’s so fucked up that I think everyone will find him just as creepy. He gives me the chills—the worst ones. He
makes my skin crawl. I would die before I’d want to meet a sick one like this fucker. When (not if) you read this book, brace yourself extra tight when you get in his head. Jodi has depicted a perfectly demented psychopath. Just a fair warning.

Darkness Lurks Teaser #4 - #RentasticReads #BabblingChatterReadsAnd Seth Connors—good God, the man is so damn delectable! He’s one alpha who may have guarded his entire personal life from other people, but loves hard and protects the people he considers his family. He may have held his feelings back for Emily, but it was for what he thinks is for the best. Oh, but he way he is with her though! He’s so sweet and protective of her, you’d feel to your very core how much he cares about her. You would freaking melt every time. Did I mention he’s a cop working for the OPD? Yeah, drool away. And feel free to serve and protect my ass anytime, Officer Connors.

God. This book is beyond nuts! It will definitely leave you enraged and impatient to get on with the next book. You will have no regrets in diving into this one. It’s addictive and suspenseful and drool-worthy. Now go read it!

Babbling Chatter Reads 4.5 Hearts RatingCristina’s Rating: 4.5 of 5 Hearts

Cristina's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsOH. MY. GEEZ! What did I get myself into?!? This is the first book I have read by JL Drake and she has sucked me right in. I am not one that gets into mysterious and suspenseful reads that entails creepy feelings, causes me goosebumps, and most importantly another reason for sleepless nights but I wanted to give her works a go and a new genre/category of novels for me to get into a chance. Thank Darkness Lurks Teaser #3 - #RentasticReads #BabblingChatterReadsgoodness for chances!

This 4.5 stars read had me on the edge of my seat getting hesitant on any characters that we were introduced too, in all honesty my mind was spinning and I was getting the chills trying to figure out who can you really trust and the need to constantly watch your back. Just the little things that were said and done will cause any hooked reader to second guess everything and anyone that is outside the expected. I have also been forewarn about the cliffhangers that she loves to leave us with and even knowing what is yet to come I was still itching for more needing the next book like yesterday! She left the novel on a good note though and we get a sneak peak of what is coming in Darkness Follows (Darkness #2) but I. NEED. MORE please! 😉

Author JL Drake

{ABOUT THE AUTHOR}
Website / Facebook / Twitter / Amazon

J.L. Drake was born and raised in Nova Scotia, Canada, later moving to Southern California where she lives with her husband and two children.

When she’s not writing she loves to spend time with her family, traveling or just enjoying a night at home. One thing you might notice in her books is her love for the four seasons. Growing up on the east coast of Canada the change in the seasons is in her blood and is often mentioned in her writing.

An avid reader of James Patterson, J.L. Drake has often found herself inspired by his many stories of mystery and intrigue. She hopes you will enjoy her stores as much as she enjoyed writing them.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

