{SPOTLIGHT REVIEW} Heart Breaker (Heart Breaker #1) by Cole Saint Jaimes

Heart Breaker Front Cover Title: Heart Breaker (Heartbreaker #1)
Author: Cole Saint Jaimes
Purchase Links: Amazon US / Amazon UK
#heartbreaker #heartbreakerseries #colesaintjaimes #contemporaryromance

{SYNOPSIS}
Aidan

Surf.

Fuck.

Get high.

Sounds like the perfect day to Aidan Callahan. As second-born son to Chicago’s most influential business owner, Aidan’s life has always been about responsibility. Tradition. Toeing the goddamn line. Just do as you’re told, Aidan. Don’t make waves.

Well, screw that. Riding waves is way more fun than making them.

Hawaii is paradise on earth. Smoking hot women. Tiny bikinis. As far as Aidan’s concerned, wild horses couldn’t drag him kicking and screaming back to the windy city. Or at least that’s what he thought.

When his brother crashes his Mercedes, killing himself on impact, Aidan finds himself next in line to the Callahan fortune and all the ties that come with it.

And this time there’s no getting out of it.

Essie

A warm bed.

A steady job.

A brother who loves her.

For Essie Gray, life’s been one hard kick in the teeth after another. With her parents both dead, her brother is her only living relative. That is until Vaughn’s truck is written off, his life snatched away by the careless actions of a rich playboy in a flashy sports car.

Now, the only thing that will bring Essie peace is revenge. She must take what was taken from her. Only when the name Callahan has been wiped from the face of the earth forever will she be able to start living again.

Of course, the new head of the Callahan Corporation isn’t what she expected. Aidan’s sexy and sad, and just as damaged as she is. Will she be able to distance herself enough to accomplish her goal?

After all, ruining a man’s really hard when you find yourself falling for him…

Add to Goodreads

Babbling Chatter Read's REVIEWS

Babbling Chatter Reads 5 Hearts RatingCristina’s Rating: 4.5 of 5 Hearts

Cristina's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsWe meet Aiden Callahan who is born and raised in a family with monetary status thanks to his father being one of Chicago’s big names business owners. Following in his father’s footsteps and eventually taking over the company is the plan that has always been set in place for him. However, he is all for traveling and prefers to make it out on his own and when it was time to finally to take responsibility and learn about the business he refuses to leave the bubble that he has created and settled in Hawaii. Not until that one phone call that changes the faith of his future.

The female heroine, Essie Gray has a rough life. It seems thing are never easy for her. For starters with both of her parents dead it was just her and her brother who she adored and appreciated. With just the two of them they were always seeking to have a roof over their head, the constant need to make ends meet, and thanks to extra sacrifices by her dear brother they did what they Heart Breaker Teaser #3 - #RentasticReads #BabblingChatterReadscould to have some stability in life. Just as things seems to be heading in a positive direction a tragic accident changes her fate in everything she started to plan for.

This book will have your jaw dropping at the prologue! Just when I though I knew the main focus of the story the author surprises me with the many head spinning events. A little bit of mystery and a start of something intense. As I continued I found myself getting into the main characters’ story. It takes us on a quick trip of the past to give us a better understanding of what is yet to come. That part alone surprisingly had me getting goose bumps and morose on what was happening. Then fast forwarding to the present time where it made the purpose of eventually encountering with one another that would make or break them.

I will admit that when I first came across this debut novel I was not sure what to expect. It is not often (very rare) that I read a book written by a male author and who is a romance writer too. Giving it the benefit of doubt I opt to check out his upcoming release and very glad I did. Aiden and Essie’s story had sooo much going on personally and when they get together you can definitely feel the heat in their growing connection. After that cliffhanger ending I look forward to seeing what will happens next for them.

Babbling Chatter Reads 5 Hearts RatingRenery’s Rating: 4.5 of 5 Hearts

Renery's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsTo be honest, when I first heard about Heartbreaker, I wasn’t so sure how it would turn out. Although don’t get me wrong, now that I think back to it, the blurb was so spot on. It’s just that I’m not used to reading books from male authors. Turns out, I was completely foolish for thinking such and tremendously impressed when I finished the book. I shouldn’t have had a shadow of a doubt at all. It’s seriously not how I expected this book to be. The way it was written was very relatable and flows just perfectly. The build up was fantastic and the story was very alluring to say the least. I couldn’t stop turning the pages; I couldn’t stop wanting
to know more and see how things are going to play out for Aidan and Essie. The way
Heart Breaker Teaser #1 - #RentasticReads #BabblingChatterReadstheir paths crossed was something so different and fresh. Somehow I found that very intriguing and interesting at the same time.

I guess I was expecting more scenes of Aidan as a surfer, but I think I’m glad with how the pacing was placed. It was just enough to tickle your fantasy about a hot surfer. How the introductions to the lives of Aidan and Essie were discussed—briefly, but elaborate, giving you everything you need to know about them, and not dragging at all—was such a relief. It helped keep my attention the entire time.

And that prologue. Hot damn. That alone is enough to pique your curiosity and have you wanting so much more. When I got two-thirds in, I was anxious and the anticipation started to kill me. I haven’t even noticed at that time how close I was to the end of the
book already. I’m even not so sure if Essie’s plan will work eventually or just backfire big time. Although I know where she’s coming from and what’s been driving her to do this, I still am very iffy about it. I’m definitely scared for her. With Aidan? Yeah, I was Heart Breaker Teaser #2 - #RentasticReads #BabblingChatterReadsreally shocked when I got to know him more. Every angle, every turn just keeps on getting me flabbergasted with how and who he really is. With how he was introduced, I kept on expecting an arrogant bastard who doesn’t give a flying fuck about anything at all. Guess I hit the red button on that one, and I have to say it makes me kind of happy to be wrong about it.

Every bit that happened between these two were entrancing, especially nearing the end. And just a fair warning, there’s a massive cliffhanger. And when I say massive, I mean the kind that will make you stare at the last page on your Kindle, wondering where the fuck is the next chapter, and when it starts to sink in—have your eyes bug out and almost scream with how much you need the second part, like yesterday. Therefore, mark my words when I say that ending has a huge cliffy. So bring it on, I am so ready for the second part of Aidan & Essie’s tale.

{ABOUT THE AUTHOR}
Website / Facebook / Twitter

Cole Saint Jaimes caught the travel bug young. He spent years honing his skills as a writer while he island-hopped and caught some of the most incredible waves in the world, fuelling his addiction for surfing. Along with his adorable French wife, Cole now calls Los Angeles home. You can usually find him procrastinating on Facebook, or watching Game of Thrones for the seventeenth time on HBO.

Heartbreaker is his first contemporary romance series. You can catch more from Cole by checking out his website at www.colesaintjaimes.com

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

