{SPOTLIGHT REVIEW} Tainted Black by Shanora Williams

Author Shanora WilliamsTitle: Tainted Black
Author:  Shanora Williams
Purchase Links: Amazon US / Amazon UK / B&N / Kobo / iBooks
#taintedblack #shanorawilliams

{SYNOPSIS}
From New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author Shanora Williams comes a steamy, forbidden standalone novel about a college woman who helplessly falls for her best friend’s father.

Dear Mr. Black,

I know you were hurting. I heard your cries. I wished over and over again that I could make it better, but as you stated I was too inexperienced; too good for someone as bad as you.
Perhaps you were right, but it didn’t matter because what I did know was that I loved the
way you felt–loved the way you smelled. I loved how hard you got for me, and when you called me your Little Knight.

I can still remember that day in the park, when you held me close and kissed me deep. How you effortlessly made me cry your name on top of sweet smelling grass, making me feel like the only girl in the world. I loved how you looked at me, how you spoke to me.
I had been madly in love with you ever since I was twelve years old, but I shouldn’t have been.

Isabelle would have hated it–my best friend. I couldn’t afford to lose her. Besides, you two had already lost enough. Losing Mrs. Black was the epitome.

It’s Chloe Knight.
I wanted to be there for you no matter what, but Isabelle needed me too.
And she would have hated me if she ever found out I was sleeping with her father.

** Tainted Black is a forbidden love-story about a girl who helplessly falls for her best friend’s father. After a tragic accident ends the life of Theo Black’s wife, he turns to the one person he has always found interesting.

Chloe Knight, the girl from across the street, his daughter’s best friend, and a person that is considered completely off limits for him. **

– WARNING: If you aren’t a fan of taboo love stories, age gaps/differences, of if you’re expecting a novel with that “unicorn and rainbows” type of feel, then this may not be the novel for you. But if you want to read about an alpha male with a tortured soul that rides a motorcycle and owns a boat named Dirty Black, then READ this! You may have just have found the right kind of love story for you! –

Babbling Chatter Reads 5 Hearts RatingCristina’s Rating: 5 of 5 hearts

Cristina's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsA different kind of forbidden romance and one where I was hesitant to read but the synopsis and the curiosity got the best of me. I am soooo glad that I took a chance and gave in. This is also the first book I have read by this author and it was one that will forever be ingrained as one of the books that I will never forget.

Ms Chloe Knight was 12 years old when she met her best friend in a city where she was able to grow into the person she is. It also happens to be the place where she has first caught sight of the intriguing man on a motorcycle moving across the street from her house where said best friend lives. Since that day she had met the Blacks’ Family everything changed and had finally felt some comfort in the place she was able to call home.

Over the years growing into a mature, beautiful, and selfless woman with her best friend, Izzy her relationship with her best friend’s father also grew into a deeper one. Neither one to act upon those feelings because it was just human nature to crush on someone you cannot and should not act on. It is wrong on so many levels and keeping a distance is the extent it should go. However, that bond changed into something else weeks after that one tragic night for Theo Black.

“But, I feel better around you. Like your soul is filling me up, providing positive energy. I don’t think I should deny that feeling. It feels too good – it’s almost like a high.”

THIS. STORY. UTTERLY. SCREWED. ME. It has been so many days since I finished this book and I am still having an aftermath effects of everything that has happened. This goes without saying that this is one of the more challenging reviews to write. Not because of not wanting to spoil it but rather I have so many things whirling in my mind but do not know how to say it without saying too much. So I will keep it as simple as possible. Get ready for your heart to be overwhelmed. Mind, body, and soul will thoroughly be affected. This is not just another taboo love story among a best friend’s father and daughter’s best friend rather it was a growing spark between two people that finally fused together much later in life. This book was not hearts and flowers nor was it a simple or an easy kind of read. The intensity, angst, the want and need, the feel of it all was heartwarming and heartbreaking all at once. There was no middle ground. This was not another typical infatuation or HEA.

With that said…I highly recommend this ★★★★★ 5 stars book! The characters and the emotions (mentally and physically) were detailed and well written. It will leave you on a different book high and a realistic experience you least see coming.

Babbling Chatter Reads 5 Hearts RatingRenery’s Rating: 5 of 5 hearts

Renery's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsThis is the first time in my reading and reviewing history where it took quite some time for me to actually make my write up. To be honest, I still don’t know where to begin. This book is heartbreakingly real. I’d like to see it as two soul mates who met at the wrong time in this particular lifetime. Although fate kept on dragging them towards each other, the odds, the entire universe was just against them. I can’t tell you enough how much the tale of Chloe and Theo ripped my heart out of my chest, shattered it into a million pieces and stomped on it. This is a story that will seriously give you a book hangover. As for me, I suffered it badly. I had to use my imagination and make up a completely different ending just so that I could cope. Don’t get me wrong, the ending was perfect as it is. It’s harsh and raw, but it’s reality. It’s super hot and sexy and all kinds of forbidden love.

Chloe Knight is the most selfless and loyal woman. She keeps blaming herself for things that weren’t really her fault. She has loved the man across the street of their house since she was twelve—ever since the entire family of the Blacks moved in. She was so eager to get to know them. The kid her age, Izzy, even became her best friend. But it was that man who rode his bike freely and commanded so much attention, who really intrigued her. She treated them her second family. And the said man of the house—Theo Black? They became closer as he was mostly at home with her daughter. It wasn’t Chloe’s fault she fell for a man twenty years older than her. It just happened. And I think their proximity didn’t really help either. It was such a hard situation to be in. And she tried so hard to keep her emotions to herself because she knew it was wrong. She never wanted to hurt anyone.

Ever since his daughter’s best friend blossomed into a woman and started to mature, Theo Black tried his hardest to ignore the electric vibes and sparks lingering between him and Chloe Knight. There was just something about her that draws him in every single time and soothes him. She was like his balm, but he could never really act on this tingling feeling whenever they’re close to each other. That is—until one event changed their lives forever. Especially his. He spiraled down the drain so quick and it was always Chloe who rescues him and helps him right himself each night. With one really drunken night, he couldn’t tamp it down anymore. This man is so passionate. So intense and raw with so much love to give. I feel like he was the one born in the wrong generation. With the way he was with his Little Knight, you could feel how much he wanted to fight what he was feeling for her, knowing it was wrong and they’d just end up feeling guilty keeping it from his daughter, but it was inevitable. They both lost the battle at some point. And there was no turning back. The more they spent time together, especially that summer, he fell. He fell so hard and so fast for her. Everything he felt for her intensified.

Every single moment these two shared cannot be missed. Each one will forever be engrained to my brain—dear Lord, my poor brain and heart—all the good and intimate ones, even the bad and excruciating ones. The impact of what happened to them from the very beginning of their relationship was very vital and it’s like a punch to the gut. It’s too piercing and their vehemence will not ever fail to lure you in. Don’t even get me started with the ending. My God that ending. It was what destroyed the last thread of strength I had left. It was what finally broke the damn dam. It was soul shattering, mind numbing and I don’t know how my heart can recover from it. Although I don’t think I will change anything about the ending if I had the chance to. It was what made the story perfect. It is truly genuine. It will make you feel so much, you won’t even need to dig that deep.

This is not your typical love story, not your usual kind of HEA. But what I loved most about it, aside from the dynamic of the characters, was how the story was written and well though of. How realistic it is. Yes, you have to seriously brace yourself when you read this book, but don’t be afraid to. Just be ready, hold on to your heart, and hope that after reading this one, it survives and is still intact. This one is worth taking the risk. Theodore Black is worth taking the fucking risk. You will most defending regret it if you never met him.

Babbling Chatter Reads 5 Hearts RatingJoanna’s Rating: 5 of 5 hearts

Joanna's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsHand on heart I can honestly say I had reservations about reading this book. Another Forbidden taboo romance, sugar coated with fluff & angst. Let me tell you how wrong I was….

Literally my heart is in shreds. I’m still crying! Words just escape me. I just cannot cope. What just happened? Written with brilliance, words cannot describe the emotions I felt whilst reading this book.

Trust me when I tell you Shanora Williams is a crafty genius. The story is told through two sides. Chloe’s & Theo’s. The way in which they are intertwined makes you feel like you are actually a character involved in the their story. It almost felt like I was intruding on their most intimate moments.

It’s not for the faint of heart but let me add we all had fantasies of older men growing up! I know I did. I’ve read all of Shanoras books & this is the best to date. Gritty, hot, dirty & downright heart-wrenching, tainted black is a winner. If you want to really feel & I mean dig deep, this is your book.

My heart may be torn but I’m actually at peace with the outcome. Ladies, buckle up & grab your Kleenex. You my dears, are in for the ride of your lives.


shanora picture

{ABOUT THE AUTHOR}
Website / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Goodreads / Amazon / Newsletter

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling author Shanora Williams considers herself a wondrous, down-to-earth author who’s all about romance, paranormal, and the historical fiction. Coffee and Oreos are her addiction. Reading is a necessity. Whenever she isn’t writing or reading, she’s most likely spending her time with family and loved ones, or watching hit TV series on Netflix.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

