{SPOTLIGHT REVIEW} Combative (Combative #1) by Jay McLean

12697361_1766216213590674_7680507402272878158_oTitle: Combative (Combative #1)
Series: Combative Series
Author: Jay McLean
Purchase Links: Amazon US / Amazon UK / B&N / Kobo / iBooks
#combative #combativeseries #jaymclean #ticktock

{SYNOPSIS}
We all play victims to our pasts; to the choices we make and the lives we create.
They define who we are.
And sometimes if we’re lucky enough, the past stays where it belongs: in the past.
I’m not one of the lucky ones.
I never have been.
Because now the past is knocking on my door, offering deals I have no choice but to take… deals that will help bring justice—not just for me, but for my brothers.

The problem?
The deal is a ticking time bomb.
One I didn’t know existed.

Tick.
Tock.

Add to Goodreads

Babbling Chatter Read's REVIEWS

Babbling Chatter Reads 4.5 Hearts RatingCristina’s Rating: 4.5 of 5 Hearts

Cristina's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsWhen I first started this read I did not know what to expect. Being a huge fan of her More Than series, have also been forewarn that it would be nothing like her other books, and seeing the cover I was somewhat afraid of what would entail in this novel.

People do crazy things when they feel like the clock is ticking too fast, or too slow, or not ticking at all.

Jay has a way of writing that will deeply suck you into her world and her characters. This is the first book in the Combative series and it was definitely different from her usual books where she has brought in a mysterious and suspenseful read into our hands. We meet and learn about Madison Haynes and Kyler Parker’s story and their background will bring reeling thoughts that will have you wondering what will happen next for them as an individual, as they get to know each other, and in their life overall. They each made some choices that will either make or break them in the long run and just as you get close to getting some answers you have been dying to know the author leaves you with a jaw dropping cliffy that will have you itching for the next book pronto!

“I don’t think it’s our past that defines us, and it’s not even our life’s final destination. It’s everything we do in between, the actual living, that creates who we are.”

Let me conclude that Jay has once again BLEW. MY. MIND! Her thoughts, her words, and the imagination she has started to create in this series is freaking brilliant! The little details she also includes in the read just makes the read sooo much more intensive that the start of this journey will have you on the edge of your seat wanting more!

Babbling Chatter Reads 5 Hearts RatingJoanna’s Rating: 5 of 5 Hearts

Joanna's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsWe all have our literary Heroes, our creators of all thing amazeballs per say. Mine, Jay Mc Lean. Why? Well let’s say her characters hit deep. In your soul, like so deep I’m thinking, you’re thinking about them for days. Maybe in my case, months.

Combative was no different. With a whole new Jay strategy she approached and kicked my f$&ken ass!!! Heartfelt and outstandingly heart wrenching Jay ripped me to sheds. Let me add. AGAIN. She’s like Tom Cruise from Jerry Maguire who had me at hello. Brilliantly written and expertly executed. I want Ky all for me. If my hubby is reading this. Sorry. Act more like Ky!

Madison and Ky… I have no words. The story is a riddle. I honestly do not want to disclose anything because…Guys…Holy Jay Balls! It’s genius.

Right now I’m going for a Baileys…That’s the only hint I’ll give ye. 🙂

Babbling Chatter Reads 5 Hearts RatingRenery’s Rating: 5 of 5 Hearts

Renery's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsThis book is just pack full of mysteries. It certainly kept me on edge and asking a ton of questions I needed answers to. The entire book was a puzzle, waiting to blow your mind. I’m truly impressed with how Jay McLean wrote this. It will keep you guessing and wondering the whole time, fishing for clues. You wouldn’t be able to stop reading—that’s what happened to me anyway. You’ll get this nagging feeling where you feel like the other shoe’s going to drop anytime soon. And well, when it did—let me tell you, my brain exploded. I felt something was coming, but it certainly wasn’t what I expected. And reading the first few chapters of the next book didn’t help my case either. I ended up squealing, left with eyes as round as saucers and my jaw dropped on the floor. I felt like a junkie waiting for her next fix, which in this case, is Redemptive.

I wouldn’t get into so much with the characters because I don’t want to give away anything that’ll ruin the thrill of reading this book for you. But Kyler Parker—God this man is just amazing. He’s an ex combat veteran battling with PTSD and has guilt as heavy as the world on his shoulders. But there’s so much more to him. He’s so strong and sweet and thoughtful. For a guy who claims that he’s got nothing to live for, he sure is attentive and full of concern for Maddy. Both he and Madison has been through a very rough patch in life and with that, their connection, their chemistry was an instant spark. They complemented each other very well and it was spectacular to witness it. Although their relationship isn’t perfect at all. They’ve got secrets, and you know what they say about those… They can destroy anything in just a blink of an eye.

Job well done, Jay McLean! You’ll have me thinking about this for days or weeks even until I get to read the next book. You’ve succeeded in blowing my wits and shocking my system. I need to solve this damn puzzle ASAP! Now give me…

Another one. 

Babbling Chatter Reads 5 Hearts RatingStacey’s Rating: 5 of 5 Hearts

Stacey's Thoughts #BabblingChatterReadsThis book was AMAZING!!! I am a HUGE fan of Jay’s but this book is so different from the others but GOOD different! It just shows what a PHENOMENAL writer Jay is! This book is packed with intense moments, mystery, love and a totally mind blowing experience!!!! She goes into places I didn’t see coming and the ending….wow!!!! It leaves you wants MORE & so many questions you want answered!! I can’t wait for the next one….I have to know what happens….. A 5 star read for sure!!! Get on the band wagon if you haven’t read this one yet …..you don’t want to miss this AWESOME story!!!! 

 

Author Jay McLean

{ABOUT THE AUTHOR}
Facebook / Facebook Fan Group / Website / Twitter / Instagram / Newsletter

Jay is an avid reader, writer, and most of all, procrastinator. When she’s not doing any of those things, she can be found running after her two little boys, or devouring some tacky reality TV show.

She write what she loves to read, which are books that can make her laugh, make her smile, make her hurt, and make her feel.

For publish in rights (Foreign & Domestic) Film, or television, please contact her agent, Erica Spellman-Silverman, at Trident Media Group.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

